Health & Wellness

COVID-19: What To Know About Weekend Restrictions Across States

BP World Bureau | May 01 2021 10:15:10 AM
Image credits: BP creatives

NEW DELHI: India has reported 3,86,452 fresh cases of COVID-19 and 3,498 deaths in 24 hours. 

Total tally is 1,87,62,976 and out of that, 31,70,228 are active cases, 1,53,84,418 people recovered and 2,08,330 people died. 

Central and state governments have been announcing new curbs to control the disease and its spread. 

Here are some of the major curbs announced in different states; 

  1. Uttar Pradesh: Government announced a complete lockdown in the state from Friday, April 30 to May 4, but all essential services will be allowed and the vaccination drive will continue during this period. No ban on inter-state operations and transportation of essentials. 
  1. Delhi: Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal has imposed a complete lockdown till May 3rd. E-passes will be issued to people running shops selling medicines, groceries, fruits and vegetables, dairy and milk booths, meat and fish; people working in banks, telecom/ internet services, private security services.
  1. Jammu and Kashmir: government has imposed a 'Corona curfew' in 11 districts of the Union Territory (UT) from April 29 till May 3; Srinagar, Anantnag, Baramulla, Budgam, Kulgam, Pulwama and Ganderbal in Kashmir Valley, along with Jammu, Kathua, Reasi and Udhampur in Jammu division.
  1. Kerala: government has imposed a night curfew between 9 PM and 5 AM but essential services have been exempted. Strict restrictions will be in place from May 4 to 9 in the state and only  only shops selling essential commodities would be allowed to operate.
  1. Haryana: weekend lockdown has been announced in nine districts of the states including Panchkula, Gurugram, Faridabad and Sonipat. Districts, where the curfew will be in force, are Gurgaon, Faridabad, Panchkula, Sonipat, Rohtak, Karnal, Hisar, Sirsa, and Fatehabad.
  1. Maharashtra: Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray announced a ‘curfew-like lockdown’ where only essential services are allowed. Curbs began on April 14 and will continue till May 15. Section 144 of CrPC has been put in place.
  1. Gujarat:  Ahmedabad, Surat, Rajkot, Vadodara, Jamnagar, Bhavnagar, Junagarh, Gandhinagar and others will be under lockdown till May 5.
  1. Karnataka: strict COVID curfew has been announced by Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa for the next two weeks during which even public transport will remain shut.
  1. Jharkhand: Complete lockdown, exempting essential services has been announced in thee state till May 6th. 
  1. Tamil Nadu: COVID-related travel restrictions and curfew has been announced, taking effect from from April 26. Passengers traveling to Tamil Nadu from other states, except for Puducherry, will need to apply for an e-pass.

Nagaland, Tripura, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh and Assam have announced a night curfew in order to control COVID-19 spread.