Health & Wellness

US Adds 8 Countries To 'High Risk' List Amidst Omicron Outbreak

BP World Bureau | Dec 21 2021 09:01:46 AM
Image credits: Twitter

WASHINGTON, US: United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) have added eight more countries to the 'high risk' list after issuing a warning regarding the Omicron variant outbreak.
Nations included in the 'high risk' list are Spain, Finland, Chad, Lebanon, Bonaire, Gibraltar, Monaco, and San Marino.
Omicron is the new variant of the COVID-19 that was detected in South Africa. World Health Organisation (WHO) stated that it spreads faster than its previous variants but its severity is less.
CDC urged travellers to follow recommendations or requirements in the eight countries, including wearing a face mask and maintaining social distancing.
"Because of the current situation in Spain, even fully vaccinated travelers may be at risk for getting and spreading Covid-19 variants," said CDC.

The Netherlands went into a lockdown this weekend. European governments contemplated imposing additional Covid-19 restrictions before Christmas and New Year.
In the US, Omicron dethroned Delta to become to dominant strain of the coronavirus, after reporting 73% out of the fresh cases last week.
CDC Director Dr Rochelle Walensky new numbers reflect what is seen in other nations.