8 MPs Suspended For Rukus Over Farm Bills in Rajya Sabha

BP World Bureau | Sep 21 2020 11:18:13 AM
Image credits: Twitter

NEW DELHI: A day after chaos in the Rajya Sabha over the passage of three of the controversial Farmers' bills 2020, eight MPs have been suspended for “bringing disrepute to the House”.

The members of parliament who were suspended include; Trinamool Congress’ Derek O’Brien, TMC’s Dola Sen, Sanjay Singh of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Congress leaders Rajeev Satav, Ripun Bora and Syed Nasir Hussain and KK Ragesh and Elamaram Kareem of the CPI(M). 

Rajya Sabha passed the two contentious farm bills by voice vote as the House witnessed chaotic scenes. 

TMC led the chaos where MPs climbed onto the chairperson’s podium demanding a discussion.

The two bills, Farmers’ Produce Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Facilitation) Bill, 2020, and The Farmers (Empowerment and Protection) Agreement on Price Assurance and Farm Services Bill, 2020, were passed. 

Read: BJP Ally Harsimrat Kaur Badal Resigns, Farmers’ Body Announces Strike 

Essential Commodities (Amendment) Bill, 2020, part of the broader farm liberalisation plan, was not taken up. 

Derek O Brien told the media that their demands for a physical vote were denied. The deputy chairperson Harivansh did not consider TMC, Congress and Left's demands for a division of votes on a resolution to send the two bills to a select committee. 

Amidst all this, Rajya Sabha chairman, M Venkaiah Naidu, also rejected the no-confidence motion of opposition MPs against deputy chairman saying that it is non-admissible under Article 90 of the Constitution.

Farmers from Punjab and Haryana took to the streets to protest against the three new bills expressing several concerns including them being forced to sell their produce under the minimum price. 

Expressing solidarity with the farmers, the BJP ally Harsimrat Kaur Badal resigned from her post in union ministry. 

Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal called for a united opposition against the three bills. 

PM Modi took to social media to highlight that the government passed the bills for the sake of farmers and will protect their interests.