Election Results: Trinamool In WB; DMK Wins TN; Left In Kerala; BJP Keeps Assam

BP World Bureau | May 02 2021 04:51:15 PM
Image credits: BP creatives

NEW DELHI: Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee's Trinamool Congress experienced a landslide victory in West Bengal with over 200 seats. 

Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut called Ms Banerjee the "Tigress of Bengal" and congratulated her. 

National Conference leader Omar Abdullah congratulated the Trinamool chief for the win despite the "thoroughly partisan" Election Commission (ECI).

Trinamool and the BJP ran a bitter, no holds barred campaign that defied COVID-19 safety rules.

Read: COVID-19: What To Know About Weekend Restrictions Across States 

DMK has crossed the half-way mark in early leads, ahead of the ruling AIADMK in Tamil NAdu. 

MK Stalin-led DMK alliance is set to win over 140 seats as per trends. 

LDF maintains lead in Kerala. Communist Party of India or CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) is continuing to maintain the lead in 92 of the 140 Assembly constituencies.

KK Shailaja won her constituency with over 60,000 votes margin. She is particularly lauded for her handling of the COVID-19 crisis. 

Read: Barkha Dutt Slams Authorities For Permitting Election Rallies, Will Not Cover Results 

BJP is leading in the state of Assam with over 78 seats.