Nationwide Farmers' Strike Against Controversial Farm Bills

BP World Bureau | Sep 25 2020 10:53:46 AM
Image credits: Twitter

NEW DELHI: Farmers' organisations across India are protesting the farm bills passed by Parliament, that they had vehemently objected to citing their concerns. 

More than two dozen farmers’ groups or organisations are being backed by 18 non-BJP political parties, including the Congress.

The demand for a legal guarantee of minimum support prices (MSP) has garnered support from all farmers organisations that includes organisations connected to the RSS (Rashtriya Seva Swayamvak). Farming capital states such as Haryana and Punjab are the epicentre of the protests. 

The bandh, called by All India Farmers Union (AIFU), Bharatiya Kisan Union (BKU), All India Kisan Mahasangh (AIKM), and All India Kisan Sangharsh Coordination Committee (AIKSCC), will disrupt transport including railway. 

 Bhartiya Kisan Sangh, Swadeshi Jagran Manch, which is affiliated to RSS, will not take part in the protests but they are also demanding an amendment to the legislation.

Bharat Bandh by farmers also has support from trade unions such as All India Trade Union Congress, National Trades Union Congress, Centre of Indian Trade Unions, Hind Mazdoor Sabha, All India United Trade Union Centre and Trade Union Coordination Centre.

Punjab chief minister Amarinder Singh urged the farmers to stick to COVID-19 protocols and to maintain civility. 

Parties such as AAP, Congress, the Left parties, NCP, DMK, SP, Trinamool Congress, RJD, urged President Ramnath Kovind not to sign those bills. 

Delhi-Haryana border has been sealed and Golden Temple Mail (Amritsar-Mumbai Central), Jan Shatabdi Express (Haridwar-Amritsar), New Delhi-Jammu Tawi, Sachkhand Express (Nanded-Amritsar), and Shaheed Express (Amritsar-Jaynagar) railways have been suspended.

Read: 8 MPs Suspended For Rukus Over Farm Bills in Rajya Sabha 

Earlier, there were protests from the opposition in Rajya Sabha over BJP, the ruling party denying them a physical vote before passing the bill. 8 MPs including TMC's Derek O Brien were suspended for creating a ruckus. 

BJP Harsimrat Kaur Badal resigned as a union minister to support the farmers. 

Three controversial ordinances passed by the centre are;

  1. Farmers’ Produce Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Facilitation) Ordinance, 2020, 
  2. The Farmers (Empowerment and Protection) Agreement on Price Assurance and Farm Services Ordinance, 2020,
  3. The Essential Commodities (Amendment) Ordinance, 2020.