Science & Technology

Three Scientists ShareThis Year’s Nobel Prize For Chemistry

BP World Bureau | Oct 09 2019 05:38:48 PM
Image credits: BP Creation

Three scientists - John B Goodenough of the University of Texas; M Stanley Whittingham of the State University of New York at Binghamton; and Akira Yoshino of Meijo University in Japan were awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for their contributions for developing lithium-ion batteries.

The lithium-ion batteries have reshaped the energy storage as it can be found in cars and electronic devices like mobile phones. It has increased the portability of electronic devices.

The Nobel prizes come with a USD 918,000 cash award, a gold medal, and a diploma. It will be awarded to the laureates on December 10 in Stockholm, Sweden and in Oslo, Norway.

Secretary-General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences Goran Hansson said that prize was for "a rechargeable world". The committee said the batteries have revolutionised life by laying the foundation of a wireless, fossil-fuel-free society.

The Nobel Prize in Physics was announced on Tuesday. Canadian-born James Peebles won the prize for theoretical discoveries in cosmology. His accomplice Swiss scientists Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz were honoured for finding an exoplanet that revolves around a sun-like star.

Nobel Prize in medicine was announced on Monday. Americans William G Kaelin Jr and Gregg L. Semenza and Britain’s Peter J Ratcliffe won the prize for their work on “how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability.”

Also read: 16-Year-Old Swedish Climate Activist Nominated For Nobel Peace Prize

Two literature laureates (including the one pending last year) will be announced on Thursday and Nobel Peace Prize will be announced on Monday. The Prize in Economics will be announced on October 14.