Eminent personalities who bagged pulitzer prize from India

BP World Bureau | May 13 2022 11:13:33 AM
Image Credits: Open Source

A Pulitzer Prize is an award regarded as the highest national honour for remarkable achievement in print journalism, literature, and musical composition. Slain photojournalist Danish Siddiqui, Sanna Irshad, Adnan Abidi and Amit Dave, Indian photojournalists from the Reuters news agency honoured with the 2022 Pulitzer Prize. They have won the award for their coverage of the covid-19 crisis in India. The Pulitzer Prize website has commented that they were receiving the award for “images of covid’s toll in India that balanced intimacy and devastation while offering audiences a heightened sense of place”.

Earlier, Indian American journalist Gobind Behari Lal was the first from India to win the Pulitzer Prize for journalism. Mumbai native Geeta Anand, Indian-American journalist Sangamithra Kalita, London-born Indian-American writer Jhumpa Lahiri, and Indian-American author Siddhartha Mukherjee won the award. In 2020, Channi Anand, Dar Yasin and Mukhtar Khan won the Pulitzer for Feature Photography. Danish Siddiqui was murdered in 2021 July while covering the Afghan-Taliban clash in Kandahar. He has also bagged the award with co-receiver Adnan Abidi in 2018 for the unbelievable pictures of the Rohingya refugee crisis. The awards were established by Joseph Pulitzer, a Hungarian-American journalist and newspaper publisher in 1918.